My Horrible Boss

Since the day I called in sick to work 18 months ago my boss has been a nightmare.

I have not been left alone long enough to fully process that I’m so sick I’m unable to carry out most basic daily tasks; or that I may never be pain-free again; or that my body may never be healthy again; and that the one thing that should fix me could further diminish my health.

With this as my reality, my boss has made it her mission to add another layer of hell to my life.

Her attitude was cemented when I refused to share my diagnosis with her. Even though labour laws clearly state that an employer can not – under any circumstances – ask an employee any questions related to an illness. When I filed a complaint about her behaviour the blow-back was and continues to be unbelievable. I’ve actually ended up in the emergency room because I’ve become so stressed – which then caused my pain to flare up – about interactions I’ve had to have with my company.

A few months ago, my company terminated my extended health benefits for things like: prescriptions, dental, visioncare, nursing care, and other health-care services. The prescription benefits covered the cost of my pain medications. My pain medications alone cost hundreds of dollars each month, which I now have to pay for out of my pocket.

Shockingly, I learned about my termination when I contacted my pharmacy to refill my pain medications. My pharmacist tried to process the automated payments. He immediately received an electronic error message from my insurance company saying my benefits plan was terminated.

My boss carried out the termination of my benefits by terminating my employment without notifying me. To accomplish this, she first modified my employment status from ‘permanent employee’ to ‘contract employee’ and then pulled a date out of the air for the end of my supposed contract. She then claimed she had no way of contacting me, which is laughable because I have a collection of emails with retaliatory content spanning the course of my illness.

Not one person I’ve told about this situation can understand the motivation or the logic behind this behaviour. One question keeps floating to the surface: Would my boss’ behaviour be better if I had told her my diagnosis or is she just a horrible person to her core?

 

Depeche Mode probably wouldn’t understand this situation either…

Depeche Mode – People Are People (1984)

11 thoughts on “My Horrible Boss

  1. Dude, you need a labor lawyer… or a government agency that defends workers. Do ya’ll have a Department of Labor? As for your boss, maybe it has nothing to do with you, personally. Maybe it’s just all about the money.

    Like

    • I’ve hired a lawyer. I wrote this to blow off steam after a meeting with him yesterday where I had to provide information to counter the fiction they have created.

      Sadly, I’m not the first person this same boss has done this to. So you might be right and it could be about the money, but you’d think she’d look at the big picture and think about the costs to the reputation of the company.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Tough Week | My Small Surrenders

  3. Pingback: Living On Edge for Me | My Small Surrenders

  4. Pingback: My Horrible Boss Is a Terrible Pain | My Small Surrenders

  5. Pingback: Gratitude and Creativity: Storms Don’t Last Forever | My Small Surrenders

  6. Pingback: My Horrible Boss: Seeking Solace In Avoidance | My Small Surrenders

  7. Pingback: My Horrible Boss: It’s Settled | My Small Surrenders

What are your thoughts about this post?

