Zentangle Tile #2: What To Do When The Power Goes Out

The power was out in my home yesterday for a few hours. I’m assuming there was some sort of issue at a nearby power station that knocked it out. Me being me, I didn’t notice that the power was out until I tried to go online to search for something. My laptop’s inability to connect to the interwebs led me to investigate my internet connection. All the lights on my router were off. I checked to see whether the power cord was still connected, it was, but the light on the power bar I plug it into was off. It took flipping the power bar switch on and off a few times before I realized there was no power at all.

No power meant I had to limit the use of my cell phone, so I sent a couple of text messages to let some family and friends know my situation, and then turned off my phone. It also meant I had to delay my plan to take a shower – my bathroom gets quite dark and I don’t need to increase my risk of falling in the shower again. Luckily, I had boiled the kettle a few minutes before the power went off. I made myself a large cup of tea and tried to figure out what I was going to do without power. I decided to work on some more Zentangle patterns and a new tile. I learned two new patterns – sea weed border and wire wrap, which are in the Zentangle 2, Expanded Workbook Edition from the series of books written by Suzanne McNeill. I’ve been working my way through this second book in the series at a snail’s pace. Nonetheless, I now have sixty-six patterns completed in my Zentangle sketchbook.

After practicing the two new tangle patterns, I went to work on my second tile. For this tile, I drew lines to guide my placement of patterns by tracing the lid of a small tea tin and drawing some random lines around it, and I used four tangle patterns. Three of the tangles I’ve learned from Suzanne McNeill’s books and the fourth one I taught myself from the Tangle Patterns site a while ago because I wanted to include it in one of my art/gratitude journal drawings. Here’s the second tile I’ve completed in two days.

Tile 2 Shaded

Tile #2 Shaded – String: Tea Tin Lid & Random Lines – Tangles: Hollibaugh, Huggins, Twilight Zone, Wiggle Waves

I guess power outages are good for something. In my case, I was able to use the lack of electronic distractions to focus on doing something meditative. I had a quiet, calm day. Concentrating on drawing lines on a white 3.5in x 3.5in card, helped put my initial concern about the food, especially the ice cream, in my refrigerator going bad to rest; and made what could have been a stressful day very enjoyable.

 

U2 – Electrical Storm

3 thoughts on “Zentangle Tile #2: What To Do When The Power Goes Out

What are your thoughts about this post?

