Breakfast for Dinner

I often have breakfast for dinner. After all, one of my favourite foods is pancakes. I found a simple recipe, with only four ingredients, that doesn’t require a lot of effort to make very tasty pancakes. I’ve made some small changes to the recipe

  • ½ Cup Flour
  • ¾ Cup Plain Yogurt (I use Balkan style instead of Greek)
  • 1 Teaspoon Baking soda
  • 2 Large Eggs
  • ½ Teaspoon Salt (My option)

I’m able to make the batter within about fifteen minutes. I mix the dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, salt) in a large mixing bowl. Then I mix the wet ingredients (yogurt and eggs) in a separate, smaller bowl. I use a hand mixer to whip the yogurt and eggs together, and then I pour them into the bowl with the dry ingredients. When the batter is smoothly whipped, I start cooking the pancakes. I lightly oil the pan with olive oil. When the pan is hot – I place it on medium heat – I pour in the batter and make medium-sized pancakes (about 14 centimeters or 5.5 inches).Yes, I actually measured them with a ruler.

While I make the pancakes, I usually sit on a chair in front of the stove. I still have difficulty standing for long periods, and making a meal – any meal – makes it necessary for me to stand. When making meals that are more complicated than pancakes I have to make the choice to power through to the end or do the prep work, take a break, then finish cooking later. Either way, how long I have to stand to prepare a meal affects my pain levels. However, this is one meal I don’t mind having a bit of extra pain to eat.

I forgot to mention, the recipe makes enough pancakes for two adults. Unless you’re someone with the appetite of a growing teen-aged boy, you can probably cut the amount of the ingredients in the recipe in half. I also like adding some scrambled eggs to my breakfast for dinner. When I finish all the cooking, before I dig in, I slather each pancake with butter and pour a healthy helping of pure maple syrup over the stack. Every forkful I eat confirms that there shouldn’t be rules for when you can eat a food. If you love something, eat it at any meal of the day to nourish your body and please your taste buds.

 

Jack Johnson – Banana Pancakes

4 thoughts on “Breakfast for Dinner

  1. I’m making this now! 😉
    I’ve got chronic pain and mobility problems too, I sit on a a high stool when I cook. If I’m lucky my kitchen assistant (John, life-partner) is around and fetches / does things.

    Like

What are your thoughts about this post?

