Gratitude and Creativity: And Then The Night Comes

My illness keeps me housebound, except for the odd occasion when I feel well enough to go out with friends or when I have medical appointments. Being stuck at home as much as I am, I spend a lot of time online. It’s how I stay connected to the world and keep track of what’s happening daily. It’s also how I get a glimpse into the lives of others. I know that sounds voyeuristic, but I mean it in the best way possible. Whether it’s reading news articles, watching videos, or reading other people’s personal blogs, I see so much – and I’m certain more than they sometimes want to reveal – about who they are.

One of the blogs I follow is ‘Kaffe con leche’, which is written by a young woman originally from Sweden, Maria Repa, who now lives in Bolivia with her daughter and soon-to-be ex-husband. Even though English is not her native language, the rawness of emotion in her posts caught my attention. I think I was most drawn in to her writing because I could relate to her sadness and longing for emotional support and connection, and her desire to fill what she calls the voids in her life. I can also remember myself as that once insecure 30-year-old, trying to define herself and make the best out of what the world was offering.

Yesterday as I was catching up on posts from Maria’s blog, one of her recent posts, ‘And then the night comes’, lit up my brain. I had to write her a response. I did it the only way I can when I’m struck by so much emotion: with a poem. I hope my words help her feel a little less lonely and more aware that she is connected to the world in more ways than she realizes.

 

And Then The Night Comes

4 thoughts on “Gratitude and Creativity: And Then The Night Comes

    • Thank you! 🙂
      Love Rumi and Hafiz they both write beautiful poetry about love and the human condition. Khalil Gibran can also be placed in their company.
      Throughout my life, as I’ve written poetry, I’ve tried to avoid the works of others so I don’t unconsciously plagiarize anyone’s work.
      That being said, I enjoy John Keats and Maya Angelou to name couple of favourites.

      Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts about this post?

