Can I Draw In 30 Days?

I’ve chosen the first book I’ll be using as a course to teach myself more about how to draw. I have others, but this seems like the one with the most straightforward instructions. It’s called ‘You Can Draw in 30 Days’ and the author, Mark Kistler, believes “Even if you have little or no previous drawing experience, and even if you don’t believe you have natural talent, if you can find a few pencils and twenty minutes a day for thirty days, you can learn to draw amazing pictures. Yes, you have found the right teacher. And yes, you have found the right book.”

You Can Draw In 30 Days - Mark Kistler

Instead of what I’ve been doing for the last 18 months or so (mindful doodling and jumping between random lessons from books and videos), I’m putting my faith in Mr. Kistler’s enthusiastically confident statement and taking the plunge to teach myself more about drawing. Why? Because I want to develop the talent to draw the things I see around me, and the things I imagine when I’m reading or writing. I feel like there are waves of creative energy building up inside me because the primary form of expression I use is language/writing and I know there are things I could better describe visually if only I hone the skill.

I opened a new sketchbook and sharpened a pencil. Before starting the first lesson, I read the introduction, which isn’t something I always do when reading, but I don’t want to miss any tips on how to use this book. The first lesson in the book is ‘The Sphere’. I know how to draw a sphere, but the simple breakdown of how and why in this book – direction of light source, cast shadow, shading – helped me feel confident and I probably drew the best sphere I’ve ever drawn because I understood why I was drawing each line. Then, within 20 minutes, I drew an apple that actually looks like an apple – at least it does to me.

Who would have thunk it? Maybe I can draw – easily recognizable things – in 30 days…

Draw In 30 Days - Lesson 1

 

2 thoughts on “Can I Draw In 30 Days?

  1. Wow! This is brilliant! Drawing is a great, organic way to practice mindfulness. Before I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia and all this mess, I was studying art therapy. I learned so much about how the act of creating art (painting, sketching, collage, string….) can actually retrain your neurons. So much so that it helps people with Alzheimer’s disease remember. I can also say that anything done on a computer screen doesn’t help me at all. But the hand eye coordination must be part of the phenomenon. I’ll write a post, once I’ve overcome this horrible flare. Thanks so much for commenting so sweetly on my latest blog post “Small Bucket Big Ocean”. It means so much. I can’t wait to see your progress. I hope to learn along with you! 🎨

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Adrift | My Small Surrenders

What are your thoughts about this post?

