Zentangle

I have been feeling frustrated because all the pain medications I’m taking make it difficult for me to function normally.

The part of my life that I miss most is being creative. My mind is blocked in a way that it never has been before and there are moments when I feel cut off from who I used to be.

Last night I felt a spark. While I was clicking through pages on Pinterest I found something called ‘Zentangle’ that is “an abstract drawing created using repetitive patterns… intended to make the act of drawing pleasurable, meditative and accessible to all”.

This art form does not require any structure or major concentration. The images you can create from just drawing lines are beautiful.

I believe I have found my new creative outlet.

Zentangle 1by Peter-D

Zentangle #1by Peter-D

zentangle doodleby flybye669

Zentangle doodleby flybye669

8 thoughts on “Zentangle

  1. First of all, welcome to WordPress 🙂

    Second of all, it hurts my eyes a little bit to look at these pictures… but they remind me of Spirograph, do you remember that toy? I used to love making those drawings.

    For about 10 years, I took different prescription medications for pain management, and I know what you mean about the fog in your head. Being unable to reach your creative side. When I stopped taking the pills and joined my state’s Medical Cannabis Program, I again found some of my creative side. Funny, I wasn’t even aware that I had missed it.

    Is there any art that you like that has some… color?

    Like

    • Thanks for the welcome 🙂
      I remember Spirograph. My cousins and I loved playing with that as kids. The Zentangle process is very meditative I started drawing a piece that is more dodle than official Zentangle because I need to learn to draw the true Zentangle shapes, but I’m up for the challenge.
      I do like art with colour. I have acrylic paints and brushes and recently bought some canvases. Now I need the inspiration to start a piece.

      A few of my friends have suggested that I should try medical cannabis. I’m still going through a long diagnostice process because my condition is a rare one. When they figure what to do to treat me, I may look into medical cannabis if I get no relief from pain with the treatment plan my doctors develop.

      Like

      • Good for you for keeping your options open… you know, some of the most creative artists and musicians use cannabis 🙂

        If you need inspiration, and if you don’t mind me making a request, how about something in blue? (I love blue.) Can you make me something that says: Freedom! (Something I yearn for.)

        Like

  2. Pingback: Gratitude and Creativity | My Small Surrenders

  3. Pingback: Gratitude and Creativity: Labyrinth | My Small Surrenders

  4. Pingback: Gratitude and Creativity: Meditative Line Drawing | My Small Surrenders

Share your thoughts about this post:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.